Quick Grading with QuickKey

Together with my third-graders (12/13y), I tested an innovative way to grade multiple choice quizzes today: QuickKey. I’ve come across quite a few applications like this one (e.g. ZipGrade); however, they’ve always been relatively pricey with a monthly or yearly fee, which my school wouldn’t have paid in a million years.

The founders of QuickKey say their tool is „a mobile and web app that turns a smart device into a mobile scanner that allows teachers to mark assessments and surveys in seconds, saving teachers ten hours a week and giving them real time data to drive instruction.“ And after testing it today, I have to say that their description seems pretty accurate. This could be a fantastic way to quickly grade quizzes or tests and, if desired, give immediate feedback to the students.

I had created a quick revision quiz about relative pronouns. Today I projected the questions on the board and handed out the students‘ individual answer sheets. After the quiz I scanned their answer sheets in under 1 minute (there are 18 students in this class) and gave them an exact feedback. Simultaneously, the app created a spreadsheet with all the results for me to transfer to my gradebook.

IMG_4105

IMG_4107

I love this tool. It’s simple, very straight-forward to use, and free. Supposedly, there’s a paid version to come out in a few weeks. I’m curious as to whether there’ll be a free version then, too. As in Austria funding for these kinds of tools is not possible for public schools, incorporating the digital classroom is a very difficult task, as it depends on the individual willingness of the teacher to spend one’s own money for innovative software.

IMG_4108

IMG_4106

There is one point I’d like to add, an idea of a colleague of mine, which I find very beneficial in my case. Student’s commented that it was quite difficult for them to find the correct line and fill in the correct bubble, as I told them they should look really carefully and be aware of the fact that they cannot change their answers. The app simply would not detect the correct answers. Therefore, I think I will laminate the answer sheets (the so-called QuickKeys) for multiple use. The advantage here is that if students use wet-erase markers they can change their answers during the exam, I can still scan the results afterwards and, most positively, I can use the answer sheets again and again. At least in theory, this makes total sense. I’ll get back to that in the coming weeks….

Comment

